Virginia Tech® home

Advisory Council

Advisory Council Members, 2022


Board Affiliation Type

Shelley Butler Barlow, Cotton Plains Farm; VDACS Chairwoman and VT BOV member.


Brad Cornelius, CEO, Farm Credit of the Virginias

Farm Credit

M. James Faison, Class III

VALOR Alumni Representative (early)

Guru Ghosh, Vice President for Outreach and International Affairs

Virginia Tech Outreach and International Affairs

Alan Grant, Dean

Virginia Tech College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Joseph Guthrie, Commissioner

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

*Kern Houff, Railside Industries

Agribusiness Representative

Brantley Ivey, Class IV

VALOR Alumni Representative (recent)

Mike Gutter, VCE Director and CALS Associate Dean

Virginia Cooperative Extension (Virginia Tech)

Matt Lohr, Secretary of Agriculture and Forestry

State Government

Dean of the College of Agriculture and 1890 Administrator

Virginia Cooperative Extension (Virginia State University)

Vernon Meacham, Assistant Dean of Advancement

VT CALS Advancement

Wayne Pryor, President

Virginia Farm Bureau Federation

Tracy Rutherford, Department Head

Department of Agricultural, Leadership, and Community Education, Virginia Tech

Cliff Williamson, Executive Director

Virginia Agribusiness Council

*denotes current Chair